New York-Penn League Forever!

April 1, 2008

The great Bill Kauffman twice in two days, what a treat!  This time reminding us to look homeward on opening day of the Majors by extolling the virtues of the New York-Penn League.

Reading Kauffman is always a revelation, and for probably the first time it actually brings to me a religious testimony to my own regionalism which is reflected in the very title of this blog.  From my own Brooklyn Cyclones (playing where else but that most local spot of all New York, Coney Island) to Kauffman’s Batavia Muckdogs to the Vermont Lake Monsters of my emerging second home (my mother is building a house to retire just ten miles outside Montpelier) to the Auburn Doubledays of my hero Harry Elmer Barnes, the entire scope and existence of the league is symbiotic of my own journey homeward.

All the more reason, of course, that I need to actually go to a Cyclones game this summer, my third since moving to Brooklyn.   Excelsior!

Leave a Reply

